BDJ BOX AND SHU UEMURA’S “ART OF BEAUTY” BEAUTY SOIREE: The Art of Dramatic Eyes

After playing around with Shu Uemura makeup and accessories, we had to freshen-up then go back to Shu Uemura since there’s still another workshop! The Art of Dramatic eyes by Ms. Claire Diokno. 

Shu Uemura's Ms. Dyan Warren-Geiger Brand Manager introduced Ms.Claire Diokno who is the Senior Make up associate of Shu Uemura Philippines. She'll be giving us 3 looks!
Shu Uemura’s Ms. Dyan Warren-Geiger Brand Manager introduced Ms.Claire Diokno who is the Senior Make up associate of Shu Uemura Philippines. She’ll be giving us 3 looks!

While this was all happening I can’t help but notice the arrival of BDJ’s Beauty Ministers. They’re pretty! And since Claire is also a fan she said hi to them.

BDJ Beauty Ministers with Dyan and Claire.
BDJ Beauty Ministers with Dyan and Claire.

Even if she’s seven months along we can’t help but admire Ms.Claires happy personality which makes her very likable.

Ms. Claire and our model again.
Ms. Claire and our model for the second time who is also a hair and makeup expert.

Claire gave us a great tip. Don’t you have it when you put on your eyeshadow and when you’re done the pigments are all there under your eyes and on your cheeks? You can prevent this by setting up a trap. This trap can be done by using loose powder, you just have to sponge a thick layer under your eyes on on your cheeks.

The eyeshadow trap that Claire Made. Lol sounds like a movie title,
The eyeshadow trap that Claire Made. Lol sounds like a movie title.

For this look we will be using Shu Uemura’s Drawing Pencil Liner. It has a wide variety or colors and textures. It is also long-lasting and smudge-proof so you can wear it throughout the day and not worry that you would look like a panda.

Shu Uemura Drawing Pencil Liner
Shu Uemura’s Drawing Pencil Liner in sooo many colors.

For the first look it is a classic look that can be worn everyday like in the office going out with the family or even weddings! We will be using the White and Silver Drawing Pencils and the Pret-a Palette. The great thing about this brand is their make-up is so light that you can put a layer on top of the other without the fear of making it crack from thickness.

Claire applied a layer or white Drawing Pencil liner
Claire applied a layer or white Drawing Pencil liner
Claire then applies white eyshadow from Shu Uemura's Pret-A Palette.
Claire then applies white eyshadow from Shu Uemura’s Pret-A Palette.
Claire then put the Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler in action. This is the brand's best selling product. It has a slot in its rubber that traps the hair in while you squeeze it, thus creating a more defined curl.
Claire then put the Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler in action. This is the brand’s best selling product. It has a slot in its rubber that traps the hair in while you squeeze it, thus creating a more defined curl.

She then thought us how to put on falsies or false eye lashes. I myself have a pair but it is unused since I have this fear or poking my eye and messing it up. Some pointers will be:

  • Measure it to your eye and cut off the excess strands.
  • Cut them together to get an even pair.
  • Use good glue so the falsies wont fall after some amount of activity.
  • Put it from the outside of your eyelid in.
  • Just put the right amount of glue.

Shu Uemura False Eyelashes
Shu Uemura False Eyelashes
Let's quicken up the drying process shall we?
Let’s quicken up the drying process shall we?
Putting on the falsies should be from the outside of your eyelid in. So from the farthest side to near your tear ducts
Putting on the falsies should be from the outside of your eyelid in. So from the farthest side to near your tear ducts
The first look is now complete.
The first look is now complete.

The first look is great and very simple. The long lashes gives an element of sexiness to it, and the white eyeshadow can only be seen whenever the model closes her eyelids. 

On to the next look! As I’ve said earlier Shu Uemura’s makeup can be layered without the feeling of heaviness to the user and without the fear of it cracking. So for the next two looks we will just be adding more!

The second look was an inspiration from the 60s. So for this look Claire just added more brown eyeshadow on the lid near the occular cavity and silver for the middle lids. Felt tipped Shu Uemura eyeliner was also used. Like what Ms. Claire had said the tip of this eye liner is like a Chinese pencil it allows you to draw thin to thick lines, its intense black ensures great impact to your creations, and its long-lastingness will guarantee an unforgettable impression.

Applying the Shu Uemura Calligraph Ink felt tipped eyeliner
Applying the Shu Uemura Calligraph Ink felt tipped eyeliner
Shu Uemura Art Of Dramatic Eyes Look number 2!
Shu Uemura Art Of Dramatic Eyes Look number 2!

The third and the last one has a smokey eye look to it. So for this we will bw removing the winged eyeliner and actually it was also added to the look. Here’s how.

The Calligraph:Ink was recycled to be part of the third look by blending it with the eyeshadow!
The Calligraph:Ink was recycled to be part of the third look by blending it with the eyeshadow!
The Calligraph:Ink blended with the eyeshadow. Looks great already huh?
The Calligraph:Ink blended with the eyeshadow. Looks great already huh?

Claire then proceeded to teach us the Shu Uemura way of making Smoky Eyes. Which was moistening the eyeshadow brush, then adding color using the Pret-a Palette, then making a small cicle in the middle of the eye and blending both ends together.

???????????????????????????????
Smoky Eyes the done the Shu Uemura way!
Smoky Eyes by Shu Uemura
Smoky Eyes by Shu Uemura: Purple Eye Drawing Pencil was then added under the eyes.

After everything is done the “traps” that were set earlier were just brushed off, then contour was added to highlight her cheekbones.So here’s the final look! The model looks ready to party!

Shu Uemura Art of Dramatic Eyes: Look Number 3 the Smoky Eye Look.
Shu Uemura Art of Dramatic Eyes: Look Number 3 the Smoky Eye Look.
Look at those Dramatic Eyes!
Look at those Dramatic Eyes!

After the three looks Ms. Claire worked on four lucky bellas. She also thought us the following:

  • Choose between the eyes or the lips. If your eye makeup is strong don’t pair it with a dark lipstick. And if you have dark lipstick, go easy on your eye makeup.
  • Simplicity is beauty. If you don’t need too  much of it then don’t

One of my friends Nicole Paler got to have a primping session with Ms. Claire!
One of my friends Nicole Paler got to have a primping session with Ms. Claire!
One of my friends Beatrix Sy got to have her eyes done by Ms. Claire too!
One of my friends Beatrix Sy got to have her eyes done by Ms. Claire too!
This pretty bella got prettier with her Green Pencil Liner
This pretty bella got prettier with her Green Pencil Liner
I didn't get her name. But how can you not have a smile like this after getting made-up by Ms. Claire?
I didn’t get her name. But how can you not have a smile like this after getting made-up by Ms. Claire?

And ofcourse an event is not complete without pictures with the friends!

10552651_924362554247985_389777987121699385_n
The Fat Cat and Edleen of the BDJ Team. I’d also like to thank her for informing me of the available slots for the Art of Contouring me and my friends got to join!

If you’ve read my review for Benefit’s Mascara, you will remember this lady. She’s a wonderful make-up artist and honestly I’m really waiting for her to create her blog as she knows many tips, tricks and makeup substitutes. I also like how she doesn’t procrastinate.

My friend Mitch. She's our office's resident makeup artist.
My friend Mitch. She’s our office’s resident makeup artist.
Our picture with Ms.Claire Diokno.
Our picture with Ms.Claire Diokno.
The two pregnant and lovely ladies with Nicole Paler. We kept joking about how their babies were kicking because they want to play together,
The two pregnant and lovely ladies with Nicole Paler. We kept joking about how their babies were kicking because they want to play together,

During the workshop Ms.Claire kept on describing how the Drawing Pencil Liners were very hard to remove, how you can use it for swimming and not mind if it will later come off or worse blot all over your eyes. So It made me curious… and I tried applying it on my skin.

The Shu Uemura Drawing Pencil Liners.
The Shu Uemura Drawing Pencil Liners.

And here is how Shu Uemura describes the Product:

  • creamy soft texture allows gentle & smooth application.
  • long-lasting and smudge-proof, keep your look fresh through the day.
  • wide range of shades and textures to create any eye look. beautiful balance 10 dark defining colors and 11 bright shades from all hues.
Here are the Shu Uemura Drawing Pencil Liners I got to try.
Here are the Shu Uemura Drawing Pencil Liners I got to try.

I applied it on the back of my hand and after a few minutes I tried removing it with my thumb. IT WONT COME OFF! Hahahah. I had to walk from Shang-ri La Plaza to Megamall and my hand got rubbed and rained on. It is still there! Before going home I noticed my umbrella went missing and I got rained on again. Then I tried rubbing it off, still the same results. 

So when I got off I washed my face with Etude’s Foam Cleanser the took a shower. The Silver one is almost gone but the rest are still there though they are not as bright as before. 

My Verdict: Considering that this is for the eyes which are not meant to be rubbed, rained at and washed off twice, these pencils are what was described and is truly what Shu Uemura says to be. A great product! I would recommend it!

Thank you BDJ Box and Shu Uemura and Edleen for an afternoon of learning and fun! Unfortunately the next event will be held on my birthday week so I’m not sure if I can attend. But till the next one! For now I’ll be waiting for the delayed July BDJ Box!

8 thoughts on “BDJ BOX AND SHU UEMURA’S “ART OF BEAUTY” BEAUTY SOIREE: The Art of Dramatic Eyes”

      1. I know! But I doubt I’d get in. I don’t have BDJ Planner this year. I’ll try option 3 though, might snag one invite. 😉

    1. Kcreol goodluck with snagging an invite! Wish you get one!

      Nicole yeah! Grabe staying power niya! Saint Ives na scrub nakapagtanggal sa kanya in the end. So if you’ll shell out almost 1.4K for it di ka na lugi.

  1. OMG! I am not lusting over those liners! How much is the whole set? mauubos ang kaban ko nito haha. Pero seriously, I’m planning to buy pag napadpad ako dito sa ATC waaah I need that for me and my clients. Thanks for the very detailed post and sharing the tips you learned that day! 🙂

    1. It’s almost 1.4K a piece. Pero my goodness it’s worth it! K Palate vs this one Shu Uemura wins! Since the price is a bit steep I recommend you to try their testers first. The silver one got to go first, the bolder colored ones are the ones which stayed almost forever until they met my St. Ives scrub. Enjoy! ^-^

Leave a Reply

